2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Post here if you have any problems with ExPVR.
mrmt32
Site Admin
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:05 am

2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby mrmt32 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:39 pm

A number of users have reported that this hard drive is incompatible with Sky+ HD boxes, this may be due to its long spin-up time. It is therefore recommended that this drive is not used with your Sky+ HD box.

Edit: One user has had success with a ST2000DM001 by setting it to SATAII mode using the jumpers on the drive (viewtopic.php?f=6&t=715).

AndyS_99
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:18 am

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby AndyS_99 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:32 am

I have succeeded to get a 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 working in my Amstrad 890 by setting the jumpers to SATAII as suggested in posting viewtopic.php?f=6&t=715

I have not done any long term testing yet, but the infamous Error 107 has gone, the planner appears with all old recordings intact and viewable, and the disk seems to record correctly.

Finally I can watch all my old Sky+ recordings :D

cheers
Andy

hansonaj
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby hansonaj » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:36 pm

Hi Andy,

I have 2TB Seagate Surveillance SV35 harddrive, the reaplcement of the Pipeline which I was told is no longer produced.

Upgraded my Sky + box before Christmas and all worked well, played, recorded etc.

But Just yesterday I got the dreaded Error 107.

Are you saying that you too had this issue and by switching to SATAII all is working?

Mrmt32,

If this does not work, do you think that by using exPVR to copy the recording on by 2TB driver back to an old 500MB driver, reformatting the 2TB and copying back would work? (I should have the room as not started to use the new capacity).

Thanks

Alec

AndyS_99
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:18 am

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby AndyS_99 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:18 am

Alec,

Originally I was unable to use my Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 at all. Every time I tried I got the dreaded 107 error. After I jumpered it to SATAII mode, it started to work (although I have an issue with Anytime not working at the moment :?)

Recording and play back seems fine.

As Tribz pointed out, it seems that the Amstrad 890 doesn't like SATAIII 6GB interface. The often quoted WD WD20EURS has an SATAII 3GB interface.

I notice the disk you mention has an SATAIII 6GB interface. Consequently I suspect the jumper trick might work. Quite why the Disk worked initially then stopped, I don't know. I also notice your Disk is a 7200rpm, while mine is 5900rpm. I have seen previous posts about 7200rpm disks not work as they are 'too fast' but I have no experience with them in this situation

Incidentally, if you do try the jumper, my Seagate uses 2mm jumpers, rather than the more standard 2.54mm jumpers. It might be a squeeze to use the slightly larger ones.

cheers
Andy

hansonaj
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby hansonaj » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:33 pm

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the response. I have actually resolved the issue without having to amend the jumper settings.

After further searches on the net I found a number of resolutions for the 107 appearing to be to get Sky to remove the Sky+ (Record) facility from the account. I got sky to do this and re-add it. They then re-paired the card to my box. I had to wait for that to reach my box overnight but it was back working this morning.

So in this case it seems like an account type issue from Sky and not the hard drive

So from that perspective it seems the SV35 surveillance ST2000VX000 which I have worked as a good replacement for the Pipeline. Up until this 107 all was working perfectly - even Anytime which I don't use that much.

Cheers

Alec

toejam
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:19 am

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby toejam » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:33 am

Just found this thread after waiting a month for my 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 to finally arrive. Can anyone tell me the jumper configuration to set it at SATAII? It's not on the disk nor on any document I've looked at from Seagate.

Any help would be appreciated. Was just about to carry out my 1st upgrade but found this thread while looking for instructions :(

Proforma
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:00 am

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby Proforma » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:52 am

Hi,
How do you change a ST2000DM001 from Sata 111 to Sata11. The re are no jumpers on this drive and I can't get it to work on my DRX 890

steve1967
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:53 am

Re: 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 Compatibility

Postby steve1967 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:59 am

I have used Seagate Pipeline hard drive Manufacturer ID: ST2000VM003 to upgrade my HD sky box DRX890 to a 2TB one using the jumpers as recommended.
Copied everything over to the new hard drive ok using the paid version
Capacity was 25% free now 88% free.
However after about 1 week, now it is saying that it is full, and recordings have failed. If some programs are deleted, then I can record some more.
It is still showing 88% free.
Also it did not group the recordings but I have seen the topic where I can resolve this.


Return to “Help & Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest