Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Post here if you have any problems with ExPVR.
tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:44 pm

Having a real problem trying to upgrade this box. It comes with a 500GB disk in it and I've tried to upgrade getting through 2 x 2TB disks and 1 x 1TB disk.

Using the latest beta, everything copies but playback is nothing but blue screen on new disk (all disks). I can record new programs fine.
Using the stable release, everything copies but nothing is shown in the planner apart from a Sky HD error asking to call them. I cant record new programs.

A planner rebuild hangs on a copy using the 2TB and completes on the 1TB copy.

The disks are 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001, 2TB ST2000DL001 and the 1TB is a WD10EURX (AV).

Help!
Last edited by tribz on Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:47 pm

Logs attached
Attachments
logs.zip
(307.26 KiB) Downloaded 137 times

tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:29 am

Ok, I've now tried the copy procedure on a different PC and this time creating an image of the original and restoring the image into the 1TB disc.

After connecting the 1TB disk, I get the message about recordings not being available again and to call Sky.

Whats the problem?

homer timpson
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:37 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby homer timpson » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:15 am

I had very similar problems - and was using a 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003.
Numerous users have found this drive to be incompatible with the DRX890 and it may [possibly] be down to Sky software.

The 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 you used - is it not a 7200rpm drive? - I didn't think drives that fast would work in Sky boxes - only 5400rpm


I eventually went on a 2TB Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS and it has worked since the end of December in my DRX890.
It too experienced the same "Error 107, Please phone Sky" as you have had - this was down to the cheap usb caddies I was using.
Bought 'better' quality caddies and the copy went without a hitch -
I then used the same image,caddy,usb cable and computer port with the Seagate ST2000DM001 and it failed again with the same error 107.

Having had a few hiccups with drives as yourself it would appear the caddies are as important as the replacement drive itself - try another caddy along with the 2TB Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS.
Ebuyer has them, and the reviews are favorable with regards SkyHD upgrades.

Homer

tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:57 am

Hi Homer,

Thanks for the reply. I'm directly connecting to the motherboards on both PC's using the SATA cable for speed purposes, tried using 2 different machines.

I've just found an old 1TB 7200 RPM Hitatchi to use for testing and that has worked fine! However, its far too noisy to leave in place.

I'm now re-imaging the 1TB WD AV one but I've set the SATA jumper to SATAII only rather than SATAIII. I'll know in about 7 minutes if this has worked or not! My next thought is that its the alignment on new hard drives.

tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:10 pm

UPDATE - the 1 TB WD AV is now working with the SATA jumper set as SATAII only !!

Now I'm going to try the 2TB one again set as SATAII

UPDATE 2 - The 2TB Seagate works set as SATAII! Switch off the box, set the jumper to SATAIII and it doesnt work. Revert back to SATAII jumper setting and it works!

CONCLUSION - My DRX890-R doesnt support SATAIII disks unless they are jumper set to SATAII.

Hope this helps someone else that comes across this.

homer timpson
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:37 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby homer timpson » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:27 pm

Good result :)

I have found, [through experience and other posters], that cables-caddies and pc ports play as big part in the ease/difficulty of Sky upgrades - never mind trying to get a suitable hdd :shock:

Glad it worked out - every post helps the next up-grader!!

Cheers

Homer

AndyS_99
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:18 am

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby AndyS_99 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:36 am

Tribz, Homer

I just got my 2TB Seagate Pipeline ST2000VM003 working in my Amstrad 890 using the SATAII jumper method.

Yahoo !!

Only 5 months of trying !!! :D :D

Thanks for your posting Tribz

cheers
Andy

tribz
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: Not able to transfer recordings with DRX-890R

Postby tribz » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:01 pm

No probs, glad it helped someone else :D

vince31
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:51 pm

2TB Seagate ST2000DM001

Postby vince31 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:00 pm

Hi there, just bought myself a 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 off Amazon to upgrade my SKY DRX 890 and then I found this thread! typical! Whats all this about a SATA II jumper setting? Is this on the HDD or in the SKY box? Looking to do the upgrade this weekend and hope you can help. :-)


Return to “Help & Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest